Skip to content

Cairo continued

February 15, 2010

I’ve switched to beer now so I will continue. Corbin and I wandered the island called Zamelik. The best way to describe Cairo so far is Mexico City on steroids. The housing is stacked to the heavens and there is no word to describe the traffic. We were almost hit by cars 3 times today. But it never happened. It never, ever happens. Collisions are non-existant. I don’t know how they do it. They fly through the streets with no lanes or markings and by pure magic nobody ever runs into anyone. The cab ride to this magnificent little hotel we are in was crazy. We saw a woman in a burkha sitting side-saddle on the back of a motorcycle with no helmet going about 70 miles an hour. Corbin was laughing like a banshee. The cabbie said “what funny?” I pointed at the lady and he said “no motorcycles in America?” Enough said.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheryl Thompson permalink
    February 16, 2010 2:40 pm

    Hey guys,

    I’m glad you’re having a good trip! I can’t wait to see all the pictures when you get back!! Thanks for making this webiste. It’s grat to read your notes about the day & see some of the things you’ve gone to.

    Tell Corbin Happy Birthday for us & give him a hug!

    ~ Cheryl

    • February 17, 2010 11:06 am

      Hi Cheryl!
      I told him. 🙂 we’ll make sure you guys get plenty of photos. Talk to you soon.

  2. Heather permalink
    February 17, 2010 4:53 am

    Hey 🙂 Thanks for the pictures you sent me. They brought many tears to my eyes. Do they have Harley’s over there? :o) I love you both!

    • February 17, 2010 11:08 am

      Funny you should ask. There is a Harley shop right next door with tshirts. I thought of Howard.

Leave a comment